UNITED NATIONS SECURITY COUNCIL – The Situation in Jammu – Keshmir Region

UNDER SECRETARIES-GENERAL: Egemen Büyükkaya, Süha Nurhat

Being the body of the United Nations with the highest authority and power, the Security Council was created after World War II to address and adjust the failures of the League of Nations in the context of maintaining world peace. It consists of 5 permanent and 10 non-permanent member states and is the primary legislative body of the United Nations. France, the People’s Republic of China, the Russian Federation, The United Kingdom and The United States of America are the permanent member states who maintain a right of veto. Non-permanent members are elected to terms of two years as a consequence of an election held in the United Nations General Assembly. The council is tasked with the promotion of international peace and security all around the world. Reserved powers of the Council include the authorization of military forces such as Peacekeeping Operations and UN Task Forces to conflict zones, the establishment, and implementation of multinational sanctions. The decisions taken by the council are the only ones recognized as binding, and they can not be subject to appeal in any other organ of the UN.